Cumulus GREEN 2020: For A New Circular Economy counts with an all volunteer international jury from academia and practice with Cumulus Advisors and Board representatives and experts in design, cultural diplomacy, sustainability and the circular economy.

Reflections from the Jury Co-Chairs

Dr. Sam Bucolo

“The Cumulus GREEN 2020 student entries from across the globe highlight the diverse and innovative approaches from our emerging design leaders, who have considered how to ‘Do More and Better with Less.’ The entries reveal the high quality of our Cumulus member institutions and the diverse approaches that are being considered to prepare our future leaders to address our immediate social, environmental and economic challenges.

Our task as a jury was not easy given the high quantity and quality of student submissions and the rigour each judge took in considering all entries. It was a pleasure as co-chair to facilitate the robust and insightful discussion of the jury’s deliberations. This process further highlighted to me the strength of the global design community who are willing to take a leadership role in shaping our future.

To my fellow jury members, I would like to personally thank you for your efforts and commitment to making this competition a success. To the students, I am also thankful to you all for your efforts in helping shape the conversation on how we achieve a future of responsible consumption and production.

This work has set the standard for future generations to benchmark against. It has been a privilege to be part of this process and I am left with the confidence the future is in good hands.”

Gerner Nielsen

“The world is confronted with three crises; the corona crisis, the economic crisis, and the climate crisis. In light of these, it is so very uplifting to experience the many design solutions young people from all over the world have developed for Cumulus GREEN. They give hope and a renewed belief in development, which will allow future generations the same possibilities as we had in our day. Thank you for the creativity, the courage, utopias, dreams, and for the many concrete ideas for a future worth hoping for.”

José Allard

Associate Professor, School of Design, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile, Cumulus Executive Board Member (2016–2021)

Sam Bucolo

Jury Co-Chair, Design Thinker in Residence, Meat and Livestock, Australia Adjunct Professor of Design, Swinburne University, Former Cumulus Vice President; Executive Board Member (2013–2019)

Lin Cunzhen

Professor and Vice President of School of Design, Central Academy of Fine Arts CAFA, Beijing

Ralitsa Diana Debrah

Design Educator and Researcher, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST), Ghana, Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT), South Africa

Loredana Di Lucchio

Professor in Design and Chair of the International Master of Product Design, Sapienza University, Rome

Michael Peter Edson

Co-founder and Associate Director, Museum of the United Nations (UN Live)

Elsebeth Gerner Nielsen

Jury Co-Chair, Rector, Design School Kolding, Denmark, Former Cumulus Vice President; Executive Board Member (2013–2019)

Sara Hyltén-Cavallius

Senior Lecturer, Department of Design, Linnaeus University, Cumulus Executive Board (2013–2019)

Leanne Kemp

Founder and CEO, Everledger

Arzu Mistry

Faculty, Srishti Institute of Art, Design and Technology, Bangalore

Mugendi K. M’Rithaa

Faculty, Machakos University, Kenya, President Emeritus and Convenor of the Senate of the World Design Organization (WDO)

Gonzalo Muñoz

Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer, TriCiclos, High-Level Climate Action Champion UN Climate Change Conference COP25

Elio Palicio

Founder and President of Green Cross Italy, Member of the Board of Green Cross International

Clare Shine

Vice President and Chief Program Officer, Salzburg Global Seminar

Rachel K. B. Troye

Head, Institute of Design, The Oslo School of Architecture and Design (AHO), Cumulus Executive Board (2016–2021)

Simon Widmer

Project Manager, Ellen MacArthur Foundation

Lou Yongqi

Dean of the College of Design and Innovation, Tongji University, Shanghai, Former Cumulus Vice President; Cumulus Executive Board (2013-2016)